Fire Station Building Committee

Fire Station Building Committee

In March, 2021 the Select Board established a seven-member Committee charged with undertaking a feasibility study to explore options to either renovate or replace the existing Fire Station at 117 Main Street in its current location.  The charge was amended to include the Finance Director in April of 2022 to bring the Committee to 8 members.  The Committee consists of five resident members with professional experience in this area as well as the Fire Chief, Town Administrator and Finance Director. The Committee typically meets the second Wednesday of the month at 6:00 PM at Town Hall.

The Committee selected The Vertex Companies as its state-mandated Owner’s Project Manager, and Dore & Whittier Architects to undertake this work. The committee completed the feasibility study in December, 2021 and recommended to the Select Board that due to a number of factors (insufficient size, age, condition, cost to renovate and ability to meet current standards for construction and energy efficiency) that the building should be replaced with a new structure. 

Since that time the Committee has completed the schematic design and is soon wrapping up design development for review by the Select Board. Should the Board approve this phase, the Committee will embark on construction documents so it can stay on track to put the project out to bid later in the year in order to bring exact costs to a January, 2023 Special Town Meeting to request approval. A debt exclusion vote would also be scheduled for January. If the project is approved by both Town Meeting and the voters, construction could begin in early spring with completion anticipated in fall, 2024.

The project is currently funded with $3.3M that remains from the Police and Fire Station projects approved by the voters in 2016. The Committee is also the point of contact for all community engagement on the project and we welcome input from residents on the design, costs and reasoning behind the project.

Committee Members are:

Name:  Term:
Christopher Baker 2024
Justin Casanova-Davis 2024
Kevin Champagne (Chair)  2024
Erin Hunt 2024
Erron Kinney  2024
Todd Lindmark 2024
Justin Yanosick  2024